

## Date: Friday 18th February 2022 Time: 10.30 am Venue: John Meikle Room, Somerset West and Taunton Deane Council, The Deane House, Belvedere Road, Taunton TA1 1HE

#### **Membership:**

Bath & North East Somerset Bath & North East Somerset **Bristol City Council Bristol City Council Bristol City Council** Independent Member Independent Member Independent Member Mendip District Council North Somerset Council North Somerset Council Sedgemoor District Council Somerset County Council South Gloucestershire Council South Gloucestershire Council South Somerset District Council Somerset West and Taunton Council

Contact Officer: Patricia Jones Governance Specialist 07855 284506 pljones@somerset.gov.uk Alastair Singleton Andy Wait Asher Craig Jonathan Hucker Lisa Stone **Richard Brown** Gary Davies Julie Knight Heather Shearer (Chair) Peter Crew Richard Westwood (Vice-Chair) Janet Keen Neil Bloomfield Franklin Owusu-Antwi Pat Trull Nicola Clark Chris Booth

Agenda published: 9<sup>th</sup> February 2022 Somerset County Council County Hall, Taunton TA1 4DY

Are you considering how your conversation today and the actions you propose to take contribute towards making Somerset Carbon Neutral by 2030?



### Agenda Public Information Sheet

Guidance about procedures at the meeting follows the agenda. This meeting will be open to the public and press, subject to the passing of any resolution under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972. This agenda and the attached reports and background papers are available on request prior to the meeting in large print, Braille, audio tape & disc and can be translated into different languages. They can also be accessed via the council's website on <u>www.somerset.gov.uk/agendasandpapers</u>

### \*\* Public Guidance notes contained in agenda annexe \*\*

## 1 Apologies for Absence

To receive apologies for absence from Panel members.

### 2 **Public Question Time**

# Members of the public who reside or work in the Avon and Somerset Force area may submit a statement or petition or ask a maximum of two questions at a Panel meeting.

Statements or questions should be e-mailed to <u>PLJones@somerset.gov.uk</u>, or sent to the Democratic Services Team, County Hall Taunton TA1 4DY (marked for the attention of Patricia Jones). Statements must be received no later than 12:00 noon the working day prior to the meeting. For the purposes of this meeting, your statement should be submitted by noon on 17<sup>th</sup> February 2022. Questions must be received no later than three clear working days before the meeting, in this case by 5:00 pm on 14<sup>th</sup> February 2022.

Please note that all statements and questions must relate to matters that fall within the Panel's functions and responsibilities.

#### 3 **Declarations of Interest**

The Statutory Register of Member's Interests can be inspected by contacting Patricia Jones in the Democratic Services Team on Tel: 07855 284506 or <u>PLjones@somerset.gov.uk</u>.

## 4 **Confirmatory Hearing - Deputy Police and Crime Commissioner** (Pages 7 - 38)

- (a) Report of the Lead Officer
- (b) Report of the Police and Crime Commissioner
- (c) Advert
- (d) Role Profile
- (e) Terms of Appointment

(f) Independent Consultant Report

# 5 Consideration of Panel Recommendation for the Appointment of DPCC -Exclusion of the Press and Public

It is recommended that, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public and press be excluded from the meeting for the consideration of Item 5 on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act (as amended). Exempt Paragraph 1 Information relating to any individual.

### 6 Panel Decision

To receive the decision of the Panel.

## 7 Date of Next Meeting

The date of the next meeting is 17<sup>th</sup> March 2022 at 10:30 am in the Luttrell Room at County Hall.